Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Diane Black

Representing the 6th District of Tennessee


Rep. Black Attends President Trump Bill Signing of Title X Legislation Protecting States’ Rights

April 13, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Diane Black (R-TN-06), a registered nurse and member of the Congressional Pro-Life Caucus, was in attendance this morning as President Trump signed legislation co-authored with Senator Joni Ernst, H.J. Res. 43, which uses the authority of the Congressional Review Act to overturn a December 2016 Obama Administration rule forcing states such as Tennessee to provide Title X family planning grants to abortion providers like Planned Parenthood. In February, Rep. Black spoke on the House floor in favor of H.J. Res. 43, which passed the House by a bipartisan vote of 230 to 188, and advanced through the Senate in March. Today, President Trump signed this legislation into law. Black released the following statement:

“For over 45 years, states like Tennessee have had the authority to direct federal family planning funds to the health care providers that best suit the needs of their unique communities, but sadly, in a parting gift to the abortion industry, President Obama stole this freedom and flexibility and forced his own political agenda on states across the country.

“While I am unapologetically pro-life, this bill is simply about states’ rights, and I am pleased to see President Trump putting the American people—not bureaucrats in Washington—back in the driver’s seat, empowering states like Tennessee to steer their Title X funds away from abortion-centric facilities like Planned Parenthood.

“It has been an honor to work with Senator Ernst and the pro-life community to help this life-affirming legislation reach the President’s desk, and I applaud President Trump for signing this legislation into law,” said Congressman Diane Black.




Congressman Diane Black represents Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District. A nurse for more than 40 years, she serves as Chairman of the House Budget Committee and a member of the Ways and Means Committee.